Covenant of Mayors for Climate & Energy

The Covenant of Mayors for Climate & Energy is an initiative launched by the European Commission, joined on a voluntary basis, and available since 1 November 2015, following the merging of two previous initiatives promoted by the European Union, Covenant of Mayors and Mayors Adapt, where the former was aimed at mitigating Greenhouse Gas (GHG) emissions and the latter at adapting to climate change. It brings together local and regional authorities that voluntarily commit themselves to the implementation of the European Union's climate and energy objectives in their territory.
The signatory municipalities share a vision of making cities decarbonised and resilient, while simultaneously providing citizens with access to safe, sustainable, affordable and renewable energy.
By subscribing to the Pact, the Cities undertake to:
  • Reduce CO2 emissions (and possibly other greenhouse gases) from their territory by at least 40 % by 2030, in particular by enhancing energy efficiency and through greater use of renewable energy sources;
  • Increase the resilience of the territory, adapting to the impacts of climate change;
  • Deliver the studies and information required under the scope of the Covenant, including monitoring information, which may result in a need to adjust the plans regarding the objectives to be achieved.
The studies that must be delivered to join the Covenant are:
  • Baseline Emissions Inventory (BEI):
    • Characterization of the baseline energy use and emissions;
  • Climate Risk and Vulnerability Assessment (RVA):
    • Analysis of risks and vulnerabilities related to climate change in the territory;
  • Sustainable Energy and Climate Action Plan (SECAP):):
    • Action Plan that incorporates the results and conclusions of previous studies and defines the Municipality's strategy regarding public and private sector measures to achieve the objectives it has committed to. It is the main document containing clearly identified objectives and goals. This document can be created separately, with a SEAP (Sustainable Energy Action Plan) and a CCAP (Climate Change Adaptation Plan).
AdEPorto is currently supporting the Covenant of Mayors for Climate & Energy made by the Municipalities of Gondomar, Maia, Matosinhos, Porto, Trofa, Valongo e Paredes. In addition, the municipalities of Póvoa de Varzim, Santo Tirso and Vila do Conde have also joined the Covenant.

Learn more about the Covenant at: